RSS Feed

START

3161211111_886f044d00_z

Art by doodles.

Lately it seems like almost everyone I talk to around my age, is stuck on some variation of this problem:

(Imagine “THEM” as group of 20-somethings screaming)

THEM: I DON’T KNOW WHAT I WANT TO BE WHEN I GROW UP AND IT’S STRESSING ME OUT.

ME: you don’t have to know what you want to do with the rest of your life, just start doing something you care about – and start as soon as possible.

THEM: I KNOW, BUT STARTING IS THE HARDEST PART.

These are smart, passionate, talented, people so why is this happening?

I realize that this is a symptom of being in your 20s, but it sure seems like my generation is hitting this particular brick wall again and again.

I don’t always feel inspired, in fact I literally NEVER feel like blogging, but I always feel proud after I’ve finished a post… Not because I think I wrote some sort of amazing gift to society (LOL), but because it’s something I always thought I couldn’t do, cuz of my dyslexia, and this will be 135th post! So suck on that personal bullshit!

All that being said, I still think if someone locked me in a room with a typewriter, and said I will free you once you’ve finished a novel of at least 100,000 words I would jump out the window… A blank page is one of the scariest things that exists.

5904908783_abfbe74acc_z

Photo by me.

Starting is hard, it requires a lot of self-discipline. Hopefully once you’ve started, at some point in the process you’ll drop into your flow — and that is a beautiful thing.

(by flow mean your artist groove, not your period!)

START every day, and think of finishing – as optional… but personally I find finishing a lot easier.

“We have to continually be jumping off cliffs and developing our wings on the way down.” 
~ Kurt Vonnegut

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

3 responses »

  1. Umm… big yes right here. I’m still like, “I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DO AND IT’S STRESSING ME OUT.” But then I’ll knit a handful more hats for the shop, or make some earrings, and I feel better. Doing something while you’re figuring your stuff out is better than doing nothing, for certain.

    Congratulations on 135 posts!!

    Love.

    xo

    Reply
  2. Hooray for not allowing labels to define who we are! I love this: “START every day, and think of finishing- as optional.”

    Reply
  3. There is something so powerful about taking on a challenge and continuing to work toward goals even when we don’t “feel” like it. Congratulations to you for continuing to post so faithfully on this blog, continuing to make beautiful things, and being brave enough to start!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

