RSS Feed

Flawed

il_570xN.411169601_p5l6Badge by me in my shop.

 It’s an odd fact that although it’s my “job” to make beautiful // functional things, with the hope that they bring a joy of colors and patterns to other’s homes and lives,  my room has a constant case of craft floor – and I’ve never kept  a rug of my own… Another fact is – that often a whole day of self-employed craftiness looks like me crocheting in bed while watching Jersey Shore.  Am I lucky?? – fuck yes — I am not complaining! I am flawed, and I am learning to accept my flaws with love and most of all without shame.

Culture will shame you for so many things in your life that it has no business to.

I feel like once you’ve come to terms with your flaws – it becomes easier to deal with them, after all,  you will never be completely rid of them, though they may change over time. When you’re able to laugh at your flaws, it gives you back your power, and sharing them lets others know that they are not alone.

People love perfect things, I love perfect things… Out of 65 digital photos I might post 3 to flickr and of those chosen 3  I might edit out my acne scars.

7762631454_5fbf096716_z

By the constant emptying.

It is important to strive, but know that perfection is not attainable. I need to see people struggle sometimes — not to feel superior, but to feel ok. That’s why I’m drawn to shows like GIRLS or Louie. Shows with characters whose flaws are on display or possibly even exaggerated, but as you watch the show you root for them anyway, and their vulnerability makes them lovable. In loving them (warts and all) it becomes easier to love yourself.

“I am not an angel,” I asserted; “and I will not be one till I die: I will be myself.” 
― Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

3 responses »

  1. serious question that is relevant to past posts but not this one: when you spend whole days creating/working, how do you sit? do you sit on the floor or in a comfy chair? i crochet big pieces and knit as well, and i cannot stay comfy long enough to finish a piece on one sitting.

    Reply
    • Some times I sit on my bed changing positions slightly for up to 2 hours at a time, or I’ll squat on the floor over a rug I’m making (the latter hurts after a while) for some reason I never sit in a chair even though I have a really nice one..

      Reply
  2. love the jane eyre quote!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

