RSS Feed

Balance

3499186284_69ae7a6c85_z

Art by aidankoch.

I work for myself.  I don’t have to wake up at a set time. I don’t have to work from 9-5, and weekends aren’t relevant… what I choose to do, or not do is completely up to me – every day.

As I grew up unschooled this is pretty much how I’ve always lived – and it feels comfortable.

I’ve learned to live within my seemingly “total freedom” by imposing structure and routine onto my life.

An average day for me starts at about 9am upon waking I make a cup of green tea, surf the web for around 30 minutes then start stretching, dressing for a morning run.

I run about a mile every day it helps improve my mood and adds some much-needed exercise to an otherwise mostly sedentary day of crafting.

8109507056_ac42c6f1c3_c

Photo by me.

After my run, I make breakfast (usually egg and toast) then it’s time to get to work… I turn on an audio book or podcast — and  I “make” from around 11am-6pm, paused only by a lunch break.

At around 6pm my crafting abilities practically run dry, and I know it’s time to go out  and spend time with friends.

Freedom is a wonderful thing, and I feel lucky to have so much at this point in my life – but as a functioning artist, I need to create and maintain a routine.

2256874441_24f8991df0_z

photo by davidwallace.

I blow everything off every once in a while (because I can!!!) – to explore and have adventures and recharge.

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

One response »

  1. Sounds like a great schedule to me! I hope someday I can make a living for myself creating things and doing what I love on my time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

