RSS Feed

Fair Isle Crochet

IMG_0113

I went to the pound thrift yesterday and bought around 40 pounds of old T-shirts and sheets for rug making. At the Pound thrift or (Goodwill Outlet Center) they sell stuff by the pound which makes for some unbeatable deals!

Just to let you know, if you think a normal Goodwill atmosphere is grim the pound thrift is positively  hellish. The stuff is in large plastic tubs on wheels and every half hour they bring out new tubs full of new stuff and people go CRAZY trying to be the first to get at the new stuff, sort of like competitive dumpster diving.

Well I survived —  and I’m happy to have a so much new material, because I started experimenting with fair isle crochet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fair isle crochet allows me to make patterns within the rug!

il_570xN.409198759_b3dk

This month it’s my goal to have at least 2 full pages of inventory my Etsy shop. One of the things that is helping me accomplish this is the awesome RadioLab podcasts guaranteed to blow your mind while you craft!

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

6 responses »

  1. So beautiful and inspiring. Thanks so much for sharing it!!

    Reply
  2. oh my word the Goodwill Outlets are intense! I went this past weekend since it was half off Saturday and the crowd there never stops to amaze/frighten me. I always go with a crew because sometimes you need back up, which has never really happened to me, but who knows. Next time, I think I’ll bring some gloves. I think it helps distinguish the pros from the novice goodwill outlet shopper.

    good luck on your goal this month! 🙂

    Reply
  3. and your rugs are lookin’ rad!

    Reply
  4. Marjorie Edwards

    I Like It!

    Reply
  5. I love your rugs…so colorful and happy!

    I sure wish I had a Goodwill Outlet store here in NJ! It looks like you’re all set with t-shirts, but If you need more, let me know!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

