RSS Feed

Interview With Georgia McCandlish

tumblr_mdlbzl6H081qay5mzo1_500

I stumbled across Georgia McCandlish’s work on Tumblr and completely fell in love with it! It is both vulnerable & brave, inspirational & irreverent. I knew I wanted to share it more than a measly Tumblr re-blog so I decided to interview her.

tumblr_lzg96fAjX71qay5mzo1_500

1. What is your: full name, age, current location?
My name is Georgia McCandlish. I’m 20 years old and I live most of the time in St. Louis, Missouri.
2. Did you // are you going to college?
Yep! I’m in St. Louis for university. I’m getting a BFA in Printmaking and a minor in Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies.
3. Who are the artists that have inspire you most?
I feel like there’s a huge range here – I’m really inspired by many of my peer artists, who I work with or am familiar with through the internet. I have a few more well-known favorites too. I am enthralled by Kiki Smith’s bronze castings and prints; I think her sculpture Lilith is one of my favorite pieces of art. I also really really love the work of Swoon, who does elaborate wheatpastes, and Monica Canilao, who makes these crazy dwellings out of trash. I also have a big soft spot for Artemisia Gentileschi if we’re going back to renaissance art history. 
tumblr_mao4j0Uv1r1qay5mzo1_500
4. What are your top 5 favorite movies?
Oh what. This is so hard. I don’t know if I have those kinds of lists in my head anymore. I used to love Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind, and it still makes me cry. So does My Life Without Me. Amelie was a big influence when I was a teenager. I also really love shitty horror films and superhero flicks.
5. What is your favorite item of clothing in your closet.
Still in my closet is my prom dress from senior year of high school. It’s a black velvet sheath that has huge puffy purple sleeves. I cost me $5. I don’t have anywhere to wear it but it might still be my favorite.
tumblr_mdl9vu68io1qay5mzo1_500
6. What inspires you & work?
My peers on and off the internet, artistic activism, manneristic architecture, home and trying to find one, dreams and fantasy, love, loss and inner turmoil. the usual things.
tumblr_m28hiqea6c1qay5mzo1_r1_500
7. Where do you hope to be in 10 years? 
I have no idea! Happy and healthy, still making work, inspired by however I make money, in the same vicinity as my best friend. If I could get famous and travel around the world to fascinating places on well-paid artist residencies, that would be cool too.
8. Current favorite song?
I have this tape that’s full of mashups of just Fugazi and Wu-Tang clan, and my favorite song on it is “Sleep Rules Everything Around Me”
tumblr_md1nobsipa1qay5mzo1_1280
9. What are your favorite art materials?
I’m a printmaker and I’m still exploring/learning a lot about that right now, but I really like relief cuts. I also really just like drawing in charcoal. Most of my work on the internet is done in pen and ink.
tumblr_m1kijxU7wf1qay5mzo2_500
10. What are your current projects // goals?
I’m working on a series of prints that center around loss and spiritual rupture at the moment. On a different note I also have a project going where a friend and I are writing comic letters to each other and posting them up. We would like to composite them eventually into a book to distribute.
tumblr_ltwm80bVAt1qay5mzo1_1280
11. How has your work developed over  the years?
Well it’s definitely taken a more conceptual turn. I spent last semester abroad studying art and art history in Florence, Italy and coming back from that I feel like my work is much more situated in a lineage of artmaking than it was before. I also really just started printmaking in the last year, and learning the new processes is changing up my images a lot.
tumblr_m61f19j4dX1qay5mzo1_500
12. Do you have any advice for other artists?
I’m still such a fledgling myself so any advice I have is advice I’m still working on. I guess I would say make a lot of things, even if they are shitty. Read books. Make something big or collaborate on something because both of those are hard but fun to do and you will be very proud of them.
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Checkout Georgia’s Tumblr and Shop!
About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

One response »

  1. jennifer edwards

    I love, love that first picture!!! Thanks for the interview…what a lot of fun/ inspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

