RSS Feed

How To Sell At A Craft Show // Without Losing Your Mind!

Photo by me of Rachel Mckay.

It’s that time of year! Here are some tips from a craft-sale veteran.

Super basic things you’ll need: folding table, table-cloth, chair, mirror, rope, clamp lights, clothes pins, tape, markers, paper, price tags, business cards, change, and if it’s outdoors a pop-up tent.

Photo by Fawnandfable

Display:  One of the best things to use while displaying your work are vintage suitcases, plus they make packing up so easy!

Make sure you have vertical display items, so everything isn’t lying flat on the table (cuz that’s boring.)

It’s best to use a white or light-colored table-cloth so your items really pop.

Photo by Wonder Wonder.

Pricing: This is can be really difficult, there are so many things that need to be taken into consideration.

How much is your time worth an hour? $8? 10? 15? 20? How much did the materials cost? What are your competitors charging? What was the booth fee? Is the venue taking a cut of your profit?

It has to be something you feel comfortable with but remember when you under-charge you’re making it harder for other artists to get a fair price.

Photo by me

Salesmanship: This is a sticky area, no one wants to be pushy – but you can’t ignore your potential customer! It’s best to be standing behind your table (it helps you look friendly & engaged).

Compliment your customer, smile, and don’t hesitate to go into detail about your process, help them understand the workmanship and time that goes into your product.

If you’re selling clothing or accessories wear your product!

Photos by me

Marketing: Pass out fliers of your up-coming sales to friends, invite friends to the online event page, post photos of things you’re making on the event page, the day of: write a Facebook post to remind people that it’s today!

Photo by me.

Take photos of customers holding their purchases and post them online, it shows all their friends that they supported handmade, and encourages others to do the same.

Make sure your business card  is tight.

Pro Stuff: Use a square (card swiper) up your profit by at least 25%  — and it is indispensable if your work is pricey.

Have a sign up sheet for you mailing list, offer custom orders, offer gift wrapping.

Photo by me of Rachel and Jake.
Make It Fun: bring a friend along to help pass the time, give you a chance to pee, gossip etc.
Trade with the other venders, I’ve been doing this for a while it’s a fun way to make friends and make a day of low sales worthwhile.
photo by Fawnandfable
Work on a projects while you’re selling —  let people see you create.
Have a bowl of free candy or cookies on your table (don’t really think I need to explain this one.)
Photo by the Rapidian (left to right) Me, Emily Helmus, Rachel Mckay.
It can be really hard and SO stressful but ultimately selling your work face to face is incredibly rewarding!
About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

4 responses »

  1. thanks for the advice! I am selling at my first holiday markets this winter (Bust Magazine and Artists and Fleas) in SoHo and Brooklyn and I’m excited/nervous. I love your displays! Great tips and inspiration -especially the free cookies 😉

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on The power of one word and commented:
    I love this post! Like your suggestions…I love taking Pictures of customers with their purchases. I love market days. I have made lots if friends and met so many interesting people.

    Reply
  3. I am by no means an artist, but despite that, I loved your tips 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

