RSS Feed

Radical self love

Rain Beerhorst photo by me

When I was little, my heroes  were Amelia Earhart, Annie Oakley, and Joan of Arc. I looked up to those women because I recognized something in them that I shared — and was little celebrated in the troupes of girl-dom — I was a dare-devil… (not a tom boy) — I would jump off the garage roof, practice “tightrope walking” on chain link fences, and climb trees etc… I did all of that wearing dresses and seed bead chokers. I had a bow & arrow, BB gun, and an amazing dress-up box.

I have to remind myself sometimes, how truly awesome I was from the age of 7-11 because like so many girls puberty hit me like  a brick of self loathing. I got hairy, REALLY hairy, my skin broke out every day, I realized that I was done growing at 5ft. 2in., not to mention the heavy 6 day periods!

In the space of one year all that, was suddenly a part of my life — and I was scared shitless. So like most girls, I ran to the likes of 17Teen magazine and Cosmo Girl. From them I learned; to cover my acne with tons of makeup, what clothes lengthen “shorties”, and how I should be shaving, waxing, bleaching etc.

Art by Happy2Bsad

Magazines taught me that entering womanhood was the start of a never-ending quest for physical perfection — that my body was created broken and needed to be fixed.

When I was about 16 and had just been dumped by my 2 best friends, it was a dark time in my life. I was lonely, sad and felt like crap, in my desperation to feel ok again I started searching for natural mood-boosters. I learned that eating healthy and running almost everyday made me feel amazing. I relearned to appreciate what my body could do, rather than basing its entire worth on how it looked.

I am hairy, short, acne scarred & healthy, strong, happy, beautiful.

Women’s bodies have turned into a battle-ground this election year, and the Republican party has said some pretty dumb shit and it’s really easy to get mad about! 

If we want this sort of reprehensible thought to stop, we need make sure that we start with ourselves. We can so often be guilty of waging war on our own bodies, hating them, disconnecting from them, abusing them.

I want you to practice radical self love, make peace with your body, it is truly capable of GREAT things!

Photo by K/R/R

“Never underestimate the huge middle finger you are giving to the world when you make peace with your body.”

– Frances Lockie

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

9 responses »

  1. fuck yeah!

    you’re a good one.
    LOVE YOU!

    Reply
  2. I love that picture of shaving, I completely agree. I can’t believe women’s rights is even an issue this election. LOVE that video, I shared it on Facebook. It’s so hard that women these days are still being objectified and still being told that we need to wear make up and dress a certain way and do things to make men or whoever like you instead of being who you are.

    Reply
  3. I love you and your spirit.

    Reply
  4. jennifer edwards

    Yes, even with my f-you attitude this summer, I’m still dealing with this crap. Glad you’re not waiting til you’re 40!

    Reply
  5. excellent post. I passed it on to my friends

    Reply
  6. great post! learning to love ourselves is one of those things that i think will be a life long journey. thanks for the encouragement!

    Reply
  7. So much love for your blog, and this post especially.

    I’ve been reflecting on the self hatred that I’ve waged on my body a lot lately and I realized that I can remember hating parts of myself even at the age of 11. At 19 I feel a lot more conscious about the pressures I feel to fit ideals, so when I do get those jabs of self hate I recognize my agency in dealing with them. I’ve learned that I have nothing to be ashamed of. Acne, hair, fat, and stretch marks are nothing to be ashamed of, but people and companies who try to make people feel shame towards themselves are the ones who deserve to be ashamed.

    Reply
  8. I dressed up as Frida Kahlo this Halloween and of course sported the unibrow. I live in a small town where are is scarce and the costume and unibrow caused some confused stares, which is fine. It also caused some scowls. I saw an acquaintance while trick r treating with my son. The acquaintance, a man, gave me a very ugly scowl as he approached and stared right at the unibrow. I of course noticed and explained who I was costumed as. I don’t think he knew who Frida was even after the explanation. He looked at my husband and said something about how my husband needs to talk to me about that THING and get it fixed. YIKES!!!! I was really surprised at this man’s audacity. My husband just laughed at him and said it’s only a costume and that I looked beautiful. The man was confounded at this point. He walked away upset. I saw him again later that evening and he was still freaking out about my unibrow. When do men or anyone else for that matter have a say in how I present my body, my face, my spirit?! It made me think about wearing a unibrow for a while, a full year perhaps, and write about my experiences. I will not be ashamed of who I am and how I look and I will not alter my appearance to make others feel comfortable. I am beautiful just the way I am. Thanks for sharing this message. You are beautiful, Rose. All of us are beautiful.
    Sincerely,
    Silvia

    Reply
    • Oh my god! how completely rude. Female body hair is still really taboo. One of my friends works at the library and doesn’t shave her pits and patrons have complained to her manger about it! So stupid.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

