RSS Feed

Blurry

Photo by me.

I have a good quality digital camera with a cheap lens, which doesn’t bother me most of the time, whenever I try to take pictures indoors they’ll turn out dark or blurry. Outdoor pics on the other hand crystal clear (if they are not – it’s my fault).

There is so much I love about this blurry photo!

1. It’s of my friend Joelle, she is one of my favorite people.

2. It’s in my favorite room at SiteLab‘s takeover of the Old Grand Rapids Public Museum.

3. The color concentration of blue, red, brown white.

4. It looks like she is putting a hoodie on her knee!

5. Her hair is super cool//she is smiling.

I think it’s really hard sometimes to decide when to keep using your flawed tools and when it’s time to upgrade. I tend to get so comfortable with my janky machinery that the thought of learning to use a new camera is much more intimidating then sticking with the one you have to “jiggle a little”.

Photo by somethings hiding in here

There is NOTHING in this world that is more intimidating to me then shopping for technology.

It’s expensive, you’ve got to choose between a billion options, you barely (I barely) understand the features that each company is touting.

GAH! —  it’s just HARD.

I’ve been trying to fix/use a vintage singer serger sewing machine and it is driving me insane.

It’s a goal of mine to start making & selling clothes, in fact I see it as my next big step!

I have to remind myself that learning new & valuable things is AlWAYS  hard.

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

4 responses »

  1. Your blog is always so inspiring, keep up the great work – and I’m curious to see more about your clothes project 🙂

    Reply
  2. O technology! I get anxious when having to shop for new products too! I’ve noticed that most people expect me to be able to know/work or be excited about new technology because of my age, I feel I’ve disappointed them.

    Reply
  3. Hey, Rose–

    Check out my friend Sarah’s blog. She’s an artist and she started her own sewing school. Plus she has an ongoing project in which she makes all her own clothes; everything from shirts, pants and dresses down to the underwear: http://verysweetlifestudio.com/. She was also featured in the NY Times about a year ago: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/07/nyregion/sewing-in-brooklyn-as-a-way-of-life.html.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

