RSS Feed

Suffering and Art

Photo by Francesca Woodman

Do suffering people become artists or are they suffering because they are artists?

When we create art – we are creating a breach between our human reality and the divine.

It is the biggest thing setting us apart from everything else on this planet, it is a clear mark of our humanity!

Much like a belief in God it can not be rationalized.

Artists are fine tuned to channel the energy of change, hope, pain, love, anger. We become lightning rods for strong feelings.

I am an artist, and I have grown up with artists, we cry loudly and often. We become extremely jealous and are capable of loving blindly.

I recently watched a documentary “The Woodmans”  about a family of artists dealing with the suicide of their daughter the extremely talented photographer Francesca Woodman

It is important to remember that creative people live their lives with all their vulnerabilities on the surface – and that makes them beautiful… but remember to love them, and hold on to them — because they need you.

I’ve always seen it as the role of an artist to drag his inside out, give the audience all you’ve got. Writers, actors, singers, all good artists do the same. It isn’t supposed to be easy.
~Henry Rollins

The significant element that is common to Rivera, Siqueros, Picasso, Pollock, Van Gogh and Frida Kahlo is the expression of pain. ~Bill Cannon

We shall draw from the heart of suffering itself the means of inspiration and survival.  ~Winston Churchill

Art is a step from what is obvious and well-known toward what is arcane and concealed.
~Khalil Gibran

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

4 responses »

  1. Your last line gave me chills. I feel like that’s exactly how I need to be loved.

    xo

    Reply
  2. Hello, i do not want to make any self-ad here, but I just had to “laugh” when I read the title of your recent post. Some days ago something happened what really caused me a lot of pain. Since I like photography I tried to do something creative to absorb this pain and ended up making the following photos:

    http://packyourluggage.blogspot.hu/2012/07/the-inner-space-belso-ur.html

    May be this connection between art and suffering is a bit over-mystified, but one thing is sure: if you feel down you just have to start to move on and do things, because if you get stuck in the pain it can last very long for you to be able to be happy again. Art can help when you suffer, because it is an action where you can forget about yourself, and if you devote yourself to the process of creation, this energy can switch off the pain at least for the time you create something.

    Reply
  3. Mike Schultz Paintings

    It’s a great post and I have indulged (and continue to indulge) many of these same sentiments. However, I would also say that it is possible to be an artist and make the work that you need to make– while being balanced and happy in life. The “good art = pain” can be a rabbit hole of an equation. Being happy/content as a working artist is a practice akin to gardening. 🙂

    Reply
  4. thanks for introducing me to a new artist- i have her in my inspiring artist bookmarks tab

    Reply

Leave a Reply

