RSS Feed

Brave Summer

Photo by Olivia Horvath

At the end of last year, I decided that my personal theme for 2012 would be bravery. I wanted to explore what that really means – and how we can learn to nurture it in ourselves and others.

I, and so many others, can get utterly paralyzed by our fears and insecurities, frankly I AM SO SICK OF THAT SHIT.

You are strong. There is bad, but there is also good. If you leap you might fall, but you’re going to fall anyway.

So in keeping with <<<BRAVE YEAR 2012>>> here is a list of things to help you have your bravest summer yet!

1. Smile//wink at strangers.

Photo by SO SWEATY

2. Wear that outfit that you’ve never had the courage to wear.

3. Raise your hand//speak-up//speak your mind.

Photo by M I S C H E L L E

4. Let yourself do nothing for long stretches of time.

5. You know that person that you think is Sooo Coooool?… talk to them.

6. Go to a party alone.

7. Dance an public. (only gets points if sober.)

Photo by alexandermiranda

8. Try skateboarding, long-boarding, basketball, rock climbing, or any other sport that you’ve always wanted to try.

Photo by nataliecreates

9. Have real heart to heart conversations with the people in your life.

10. Say no.

11. Let go of your crutch – whether it’s sugar, cigarettes, coffee, drinking etc.

photo by Maddie Joyce

12. Let yourself love something or someone whole heartedly.

Photo by Wewillallbewell

13. Be decisive.

14. be flexible//open.

15. Start a club//have a party// host house show//

16. experiment with not shaving.

17. Love yourself  (one of the single bravest things you can do).

One of the hardest things about being brave, is that it relies on allowing yourself to become vulnerable.

What makes you feel Brave?

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

8 responses »

  1. so your blog is pretty new to me (and i’m sorry i can’t remember how i found it) but i’m really enjoying it! this post speaks to me cos i’m a big scaredy cat… my bf and friends are a little more adventurous though so sometimes when i go out with them i try to have a “yes” day and don’t say no to any crazy ideas that come up which usually leads me to face my fears of heights, bugs, woods,open bodies of water, getting caught by the police, etc 🙂 it forces me to push my boundaries and those days have always ended up being the best!

    Reply
  2. What a nice post. It’s funny, yesterday I read a Ray Bradbury quote that fits perfectly with what you wrote: “You’ve got to jump off cliffs all the time and build your wings on the way down”. And in the list of things I would add traveling alone 🙂

    Reply
  3. this list is excellent! #4 on your list is really hard for me to do sometimes, but I think its a good thing to try. I”m so happy you wrote this. I needed to read this

    Reply
  4. This is a really neat list! It could have so easily been a list of massive cliches but it sounds really personal and as someone who’s had a bit of a crappy 2012 so far, it’s really inspiring! 🙂

    Reply
  5. I really loved this post and thanks to you, I finally got up the nerve to try long-boarding! And I am completely hooked….so fun!!! (except for the occasional wipe out, bruises, and scrapes) haha. Thanks for this post. Fear is the hugest hindrance in my life. I want to be brave. 🙂

    Reply
  6. amazing!! love this post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

