RSS Feed

These Are The Socks That I Have

Illustration by Pearl Beerhorst

A couple of months ago I had my two youngest sisters Grace & Rain come over to hang out, like we do every other week or so. When it was time for them to leave, I told Grace to put on her shoes and socks, she sighed and grabbed one tiny cotton ankle sock and one huge wool knee sock, and proceeded to put them on. I started to laugh and asked, Grace what are you doing?

Photo by StudioBeerhorst

She gave me a withering look and said matter-of-factly “these are the socks that I have…”

I’m sure  Grace had other socks but she saw the whole idea of socks as stupid in the first place, and that she was wearing a pair at all was purely in response to parental prodding, she probably grabbed the first two socks she saw.

When I told my housemates about this “These are the socks that I have…”  became a sort of inside joke, for whenever anyone had something grungy, or broke – that they used anyway.

Photo by izzygator

For instance Rosie has a pair of Keds that her little toe pokes out of and if anyone commented on that  she could reply flatly;

“these are the socks that I have…”

Sometimes my bike makes a weird noise when I’m riding it “these are the socks that I have…”

I wear THE UGLIEST pajama bottoms to bed every night that I got from my grandma — like 5 years ago…

“these are the socks that I have…”

and so on….

I guess I like the idea of being unapologetic about your imperfections, don’t ever let anyone make you feel bad about something that doesn’t fit into what they consider to be normal.

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

8 responses »

  1. haha I love this, that is really cute

    Reply
  2. This is so perfect! And true. Absolutely love it.

    Reply
  3. I’m so glad you decided to dedicate a blog post to this! Haha, I love it

    Reply
  4. best ever.

    Reply
  5. So much of life is seems to comprise of getting by with these worn out broken things we have that really should be replaced but that some how still get the basic job done.

    Reply
  6. Do what you can
    With what you have
    Where you are.

    Reply
  7. i love this

    Reply

Leave a Reply

