RSS Feed

Localist

Photo by me!

I am a Localist.

What that means is that I am actively supporting local business and community.

I got to spend a day at Local Firsts national BALLE Conference it was so incredibly inspiring!

The BALLE conference is a place for cultural leaders, activists, sustainability experts, and business people.

They had over 30 speakers, all with their own stories of the innovative ways they have made a positive impact in their communities.

It was a huge honor for BALLE to be held in Grand Rapids this year! Grand Rapids is still shaking off its old image as an extremely conservative community.

(We are becoming a city where you can buy organic baked oatmeal off a food truck at the farmers market!)

They pick cities with strong Local First chapters, and apparently we have one of the strongest for our size city.

My family got to attend the conference as en example of GR local art, we even brought the Wonder Wagon into the Devos hall!

Everyone at the conference believes that America is going through a huge transformation, that power is shifting, you can be a part of that! What do you want America to look like?

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

Leave a Reply

