RSS Feed

The Brontë Sisters

Painting by Patrick Branwell Brontë

I have always been drawn to the history and  lives creative people. There is something oddly encouraging in the realization that most talented people experienced great failure and difficulty in their lives.

That in their pain and perhaps because of it, they where able to create masterworks thats passion echoes through time.

illustration by Lizzy Stewart

I’ve read Wuthering Heights by  Emily Brontë twice, which is pretty unusual for me as I don’t ordinarily re-read books. It’s a darkly romantic story that’s themes deal with the conflicts of nature vs. culture and the dangers of the inability to change. Ideas that remain completely relevant today.

Some people believe that Jane Eyre, written by elder sister Charlotte, is a better book. It was certainly more widely received upon publication because of its Dickensian plot structure and virtue of its main character Jane.

Although Jane Eyre is a wonderful book (and certainly has had better screen adaptations) I think that Wuthering Heights is the more original of the two, and remains my favorite.

I feel a certain kinship with the Brontë Sisters. I can relate to their isolated and fiercely creative childhoods, even though theirs was tinged with much more sadness than mine. Creation at its heart is a solitary act.

I recently listened to these two fascinating podcasts about the Brontës.

Stuff You Missed In History Class Podcast Brontë Sisters Part 1  Part 2

It is in vain to say human beings ought to be satisfied with tranquility: they must have action; and they will make it if they cannot find it.

~Charlotte Bronte

I have dreamed in my life, dreams that have stayed with me ever after, and changed my ideas; they have gone through and through me, like wine through water, and altered the color of my mind.

~Emily Bronte

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

3 responses »

  1. I like the second quote a lot. Interesting to see how similar thoughts people can have who lived in totally different times and culture.

    Reply
  2. Interesting that Wuthering Heights is your preferred book of the two. I liked Jane Eyre more, though Jane herself annoyed me quite a lot.

    Going to agree with the previous commenter — the second quote is quite beautiful.

    As a whole, this was a gorgeous post, Rose!

    Stay well!

    xo

    Reply
  3. I always feel so inspired after reading your posts. I know what you mean about feeling connected to creative people who have experienced difficulity throughout their lives

    Reply

Leave a Reply

