RSS Feed

Spelling & Grammar

photo by cathy cullis

On my post “A Dozen Stupid//Fun Things To Do When Your Bored” I misspelled a lot of words including in the title.

(I wrote Board instead of Bored, your instead of you’re) it prompted a couple of people to write some disrespectful comments.

I welcome your feedback after all I want my blog to be easily comprehended. But It would have been a lot more thoughtful to send me your suggestions in an Email, rather than expressing them publicly on my blog.

Photo of Rose by Brenda Beerhorst

As for Marjorie’s comment about my “unschooled background” I am proud to be unschooled. I think it’s a remarkable way to raise children; it gives them the chance to follow their passion and in doing that zero in on their life’s work at a really young age. One of things about unschooling that frightens most people is that their children’s passion might not include math or grammar.

In my experiences if  your kid’s having a really hard time reading, buy him or her a Gameboy and Pokemon game. They will have to learn to read to play the game. The point is if you really need to know something you will want to learn it so you can get on with your life.

I am an extremely visual thinker and I feel much more comfortable with images than words.

I have always struggled with spelling and grammar. In fact I would never write because it would upset me too much to see my primitive handwriting and poor spelling.

Slowly when I started using the internet (first Flickr, then Etsy , Facebook, Email, etc.) I got more comfortable writing and

(powered by Spellcheck) I decided to start my own blog.

It has been about a year since I started this WordPress blog and it has been a wonderfully empowering experience!

I’ve challenged myself to write regularly. In the process I’ve learned a lot and created something I’m really proud of!

I am still learning so if you notice a mistake it’s ok to let me know privately at rosebeerhorst@gmail.com 

I started writing because I was sick of limiting myself, by being afraid to make mistakes.

A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.

~George Bernard Shaw

To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.

~Joseph Chilton Pearce

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

23 responses »

  1. Michael Noorman

    🙂

    Reply
  2. I’m sorry you got so disrespected, Rose. I think you are awesome and I love your blog, even though you are TWENTY years younger than me! lol! Don’t let the naysayers get you down. You are a wonderful, thoughtful woman with a lot to add to the world. X Helen

    Reply
  3. Nice! First off, I really like the cool spoons in the top picture. Second, I totally get the whole visual thinker thing! I’ve done some research into different ways that people think and learn, and I think it’s extremely important to emphasize that the left brain is in no way superior to the right brain. The left brain is technical and the right is visual and they’re equally important. As a visual thinker, you excel in crafts. As mathematical thinkers, some people excel in science. They both mean a lot in the world, and I think it’s sad that art is becoming so devalued! The Mexica (“Aztec”) people, native to Mexico, believed that art was the very closest thing to divinity. They had entire philosophical volumes dedicated to the essence of art in relation to humanity and the gods.

    Reply
  4. I’m loving those quotes

    Reply
  5. I love the photos of the handmade wooden spoons! Forget about the haters, they’re hiding behind the internet and making something out of nothing. Who cares about spelling? It’s a blog!

    Reply
    • Mike Schultz Paintings

      Here, here! I’d like to echo all of Meghan’s sentiments. Beautiful spoons. People are rude online in ways they would never be face to face. Who cares about spelling?

      Also, another option is that you can moderate comments made on your blog and choose if you would like them to be public or not.

      Keep it up!
      Mike

      Reply
  6. I read and keep up with your blog as well. I feel deeply that it is one of the most authentic and organic blogs that I follow and even though I am at least thirty years your senior-I can relate very well with you and what you are sharing with the world. I have four children of my own and if I had it to do all over again they too would be “UNSCHOOLED”. They are all academically sound, however, it would be wonderful if they were just a bit more creative. In the world in which we live unfortunately people are too quick to criticize, judge, and put down rather than uplift and inspire. So, be proud of your efforts! I am! And hats off to your parents for having the insight and gumption to do what so many of us quietly wish we would have done! Keep on writing, because you will continue to get it right! ‘Nothing beats a failure but a try’—and sister, sista, sistah, sistren, your are already a winner in our books!!!

    Reply
  7. I’m curious as to why some of your commenters think that your spelling/grammatical mistakes are because you were unschooled, when I’ve seen just as many (if not more) mistakes made by those who attended the public school system. If I had a nickel for every time I saw someone mix up the words “lose” and “loose” I could retire. Unschooling is not the issue. In fact, I don’t think it is an issue at all, some people are better at some things and worse at others. I like grammar and spelling, but I have trouble with math. I’m not as creative as Rose. We all have strengths and weaknesses.
    While I do think proper grammar and spelling is important in serious writing and anything work related, I don’t know why it matters so much on a blog? On a blog you’re just putting your thoughts down, you shouldn’t have to edit and review it a million times unless it’s a serious article.
    Having been home schooled myself I still deal with criticism on a fairly regular basis (and I’m 26 and own my own business). I think that people just see it as “weird” so they find any reason they can to criticize since they don’t understand. People tend to see our weaknesses instead of how we were able to develop our strengths far more than we would have in a traditional school environment.

    Summary: Haters gonna hate.

    Reply
    • Jennifer Edwards

      Well said erin! I’m betting there are a lot of people who excel at grammar who would love to, say, own their own home, not be in debt and have time for their passions like Rose.

      Reply
    • Yes! Great point! Most people I went to public school with (Hell, most people I’m in college with!) can’t spell at all and NEVER use proper apostrophes! Seriously, most people pay no mind to sentence structure in everyday life, because it doesn’t matter that much when you’re writing for fun!

      Reply
  8. Oh my, I teach writing workshop to 95+ students. I am fortunate enough to have professional writers visit my classroom to expose children to the “process” that writing is… It is an encouragement to both my students and myself to see the amount of red ink that is represented on initial drafts. If we all produced a flawless piece of writing out the gate there would be no need for editors. The challenge is getting the CONTENT out, the expression of ideas and meaning. The grammar and spelling is the last stop on the process and most of us are in need of support and “eyes” to find the errors. I think perchance someone missed the beauty of the post and the content of your voice as a writer. Always question those who are quick to point out our flaws rather than our strengths.

    Reply
  9. You’re awesome, girl. I love your blog and I admire you for doing it in spite of any fear. Too bad some people are tactless and hateful rather than being encouraging and helpful.

    Reply
  10. Rose, i cannot thank you enough for supporting the local crafting scene so much on this blog. Thanks for truly being DIY.

    sincerely,

    -Rusty

    Reply
  11. beautifully written

    Reply
  12. Dear Rose, I think to be wise, to be able to communicate your wisdom with love and generosity of spirit, as you do, well, I only wish that I was as free in my own spirit. I think you are a wonderful writer. It is the message that matters. I hope you will continue to explore and share your life with an open heart.

    All good wishes to you!

    Reply
  13. Hello Rose,
    Unschooling as always fascinated me. All the research I have done has only impressed me and it is something I would love to do with my future family. But do you think there are any negative aspects to it? I’m also curious, and feel free not to answer, did you take any standardized test, like the SATs or ACTs for schools/jobs/scholarships?

    hey i hope you have a great day
    and I like most people have said, spelling and grammar have not been my best subjects either. thankfully my twin sister is quite the opposite. ive always had her check over my work – good luck with this blog and I hope you continue, its fun to read ;D
    -ellery

    Reply
    • Hi Ellery, I’m glad that Unscholing fascinates you (: Here’s a post I wrote on my Unschooling experience>

      https://rosebeerhorst.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/unschooled/

      It should (hopefully) answer most of your questions!

      As for standardized tests I didn’t take any. I’ve known for a long time that I wanted to work in the arts, so I didn’t feel obligated to.
      I think that standardized testing is stupid! I’m sorry that it is become a nonnegotiable part of pursuing higher education.
      I don’t care what anyone says, You just can’t measure inelegance!

      Reply
      • Thanks Rose! -that article gave me a bit more insight, its seems making sure kids get to work with a variety of people to develop good communication/cooperation skills. which makes since.

        ooo and nice mascot! i hope kids still get read pippi longstocking- my cousin would always put a piece of hanger in her hear and slide it through her braids to look like her-i think i may try that again!

  14. Maybe you won’t get this because you wrote this post awhile ago, but I just have to comment. I’ve been looking through your blog which I found through your Etsy shop, and what keeps me interested is the real and honest way in which you write. I was wondering how a 20 year old could already be so motivated, self-aware, and quite frankly, very wise. I grew up in a very traditional household, went to college because it was expected of me, and found myself with a $100,000 bachelor’s degree, and very little sense-of-self. I’m 25 now and just beginning to scratch the surface of what it truly means to be an artist, and to pursue what your heart wants instead of what everyone else in your world wants for you. I almost envy that you have such inner freedom, because it seems so easy for you, and it is something I am trying so desperately to un-cover for myself. Anyway, what I am trying to say is, you are blessed to have been raised in such an environment, and it truly truly shows. You rock!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

