RSS Feed

How To Make Your City Cool!

Illustration by Séamus Gallagher.

One of the things that bugs me the most is to hear someone say something like

“There’s nothing to doooo around here” or

“Grand Rapids more like bland rapids

“I can’t wait to get out of here”

“Portland!!!!”

If your hometown seems bland or boring you’re in luck because it NEEDS you! Portland and New York don’t need you.

If you  ferment something it’s going to taste a little different depending on your location, that is because everywhere has its own unique bacteria and yeast in the air that affects the flavor.

Your city is special, it is like no other place on earth, it has its own flavor literally!

 There are people who live there that don’t live anywhere else, it has its own unique history like nowhere else,

Don’t give up on it.

//\\ This is my list of things to do to make your city a better place to live //\\

in no particular order.

Photo by zach bonnell

1. Create and host events, have a house show, book one of your favorite local bands, invite all your friends charge $5 at the door and give the proceeds to the band

( if you want to have a thriving music scene pay musicians!).

Photo by winklebleck

Photo by me!

art by Paige Smith

2. Make street art! Put art where people are guaranteed to see it, it will spark conversation and get people  thinking.

Photo by catia escape

3. Get to know your neighbors. If you join forces you can make your street a better place to live.

4. BUY ART! Artists are the life blood of any exciting city! Without them there is no culture.

Photo by calivintage

5. Have fun getting dressed, it will inspire the people who see you to do the same!

Photo from brizzle born and bred

6. Shop local! Every time you shop at a chain store your money gets whisked away from your community. Not only that, but you’re killing diversity all over America.

If that sounds extreme, think about every town’s only stores being Walmart, Mcdonalds, Starbucks etc. Some places are closer to that  then you’d think.

Supporting local shops, markets, and craftsmen is indispensable.  Remember: you vote on the world you want to live in with your dollar.

Photo by Jaime Kristen

7. Throw a Sunday Soup! Sunday Soup is a mini grant event that anyone and everyone can start.

This is a great way to help you and your friends start projects!

Photo by Studio Beerhorst

8. Make your front yard a vegetable garden, make Seed bombs and throw them in abandoned lots, plant tomato plants in city parks, start a community garden.

Photo from leep

9. Get to know your city’s history, everywhere has a story and the more you know the deeper your appreciation!

10. Be proud of where your from it’s a part of you!

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

9 responses »

  1. Excellent, I love the gold brick filler pic. When they tore down that UK house made of Lego’s they did an amazing job of filling in brick holes the same way.

    Reply
  2. Great post! I agree – stop complaining and start something fun!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the ideas! I’m moving out of my mom’s house and into a (tiny) college town this summer and when I went to visit I was like “is partying really the ONLY thing to do here??? I don’t want to party!!!”, but now I have some cool ideas for artsy individuals like myself! Your post couldn’t have come at a better time!

    Reply
  4. Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! I live in Hastings and appreciate Grand Rapids so much because I feel people are motivated to take action to make it a cooler place to live. My GRap friends refresh my inspiration so I can make Hastings cooler but also encourage me to leave Hastings to live in GRap…but what do we do? Congregate or spread out a bit?!

    Reply
  5. Hamilton could definitely use some seed bombing! Thanks for the idea 🙂

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Improving Your City — Westervin

  7. so many good ideas 🙂

    Reply
  8. I just found you blog! I’m so happy! So far what I have seen if so great! Very inspiring, creative, awesome! Thanks for being proud of and showing off who you are!!

    Ashley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

