RSS Feed

County in the City

The coveted

Country living or City-life? I’ve spent most of my life living in the city but I’ve also had some really invigorating visits with friends in the country. The artist/maker lifestyle lends itself to isolation, something that country living only heightens, and that’s fine but I need regular social interaction to keep me sane!

Photo By Faythelevine

Artists are always spellbound by the idea of a simpler purer life, building up their world from scratch without all the pollution of the city – for both body or mind, but when the rubber hits the road they sometimes find that the HARD WORK of country life (specifically farming) can shatter their utopian fantasies.

Photo By Julia-Rose

That being said, the best things are the hardest won and I can’t think of a more righteous way to spend your life than farming. So I’ve decided to have it all! this summer I’m planing on getting 3 chickens, doing some raised bed  gardening, and wild forging. I will hopefully have a respectable little urban farm.

(Chills every time)

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

6 responses »

  1. La vida en el campo sigue siendo un sueño para mi, por ahora la necesidad de contacto con la tierra, la autosustentabilidad, y la maravilla de la vida sencilla la tengo en pequeñas dosis al cultivar en el patio verduras, flores y frutos…. la posibilidad de criar gallinas o tener un panal de abejas en la ciudad esta rondando mi cabeza… más bien mi corazón!!!!
    Ya quiero tener tus noticias sobre los planes que tienes! felicitaciones!!!!

    Reply
  2. You go, girl! Three chix is definitely a manageable number. We’ve got 12 and they’re constantly aggravating me with their antics (mostly because they like to chill on the porch and poop… everywhere). Anyway, you most definitely have a respectable wee urban homestead, and your plans are the perfect start-point for further projects; bees in the future, maybe?

    I had to laugh when you wrote about urban artists dreaming of the country life, then going, “Oh, shit, this is a lot of work!” It totally is, but isn’t it grand? It’s 7:30AM here right now, and I know I’ve got to go out and shovel horse poo, clean the turkey houses, move all of our hay, and sort wood, but I’m like, “eh, ain’t no thing.” It’s invigorating to get to work early in the morning. 🙂

    xo

    Reply
  3. Oh, and this line, “I can’t think of a more righteous way to spend your life than farming,” warmed my heart, because this is exactly what I want to do with my days, for the rest of my days. ❤

    Reply
  4. I often wonder when I see blogs with people pining for the rural life if they understand how hard it is, how repetitive it can be. I wonder if they have done what they can to simplify their lives where they are and bring some of what they wish for into daily urban life.

    Reply
  5. I just checked this book out from the library and it made me think of your mending and patching project. Mend it better: creative patching, darning and stitching, by Kristin Roach.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

