RSS Feed

Up in Arms

Leon the Professional

True Grit

There is something incredibly powerful about the image of a girl with a gun and I have been thinking about why it has such a strong effect on me. I’m not attracted to the violence its self, maybe its the girl being her own hero (not just a pretty pawn to be saved from the villain).

HANNA

It could be that it’s a metaphor of mentally taking up arms against all the bullshit that women and girls are bombarded with everyday by mainstream media.

as I’m coming to the end of my teen girl years I can tell you that it was HARD

Becoming a woman means entering a war zone whether you wanted to or not.

 Photo by Exxelle

One of my biggest childhood heroines was Joan of Arc she fascinated me and still does. There is still so little really known about her. She led a badly beaten France into many military victories over England and saved France from English rule. Her biggest victory was winning back Orleans from the English in 1429 when she was 17 years old. Joan was captured in battle and sold to the English who burned her at the stake at 19. She said she was guided by the voices of saints, but one has to wonder what was really going on. I would give both my arms to know what she was really like.

I want to be Strong and Brave even though a lot of times I just feel really vulnerable and scared. You have to realize that no matter what you think or anybody else says you have power, and with that comes responsibility.
You can awaken each day to obligations you never chose – or you can decide now to choose them.  ~Robert Brault

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

4 responses »

  1. Hope you are doing well Rose…you would probably like this old movie…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfRrEUz62Lw

    Reply
  2. amen, dear sister.. you ARE strong and brave. i believe that being our vulnerable, scared selves, fully alive and truly feeling takes great courage and strength. keep shining and inspiring, rose. you are a warrior.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

