RSS Feed

Head In the Sky Feet on The Ground

Photo by LawrenceMartinez

I am a dreamer , so is my Dad and a lot of our close friends. What I mean by that is, that we are always coming up with big ideas, embracing change, and taking risks. This can be a very intoxicating way to live  but it can also be exhausting! Especially for family and friends. Big dreamers  have the ability to spin webs of fantastical plans and get a room drunk with their ideas and energy. For the dreamer this is a powerful feeling – but more often than not, the harsh reality of getting their ideas off the ground is too much to handle.

illustration By hellojenuine.

-This does not mean that we never pull anything off – it just means that out of 100 ideas 10 actually happen. I can remember sitting around the dinner table at countless family meetings discussing the idea of possibly moving to a farm  in the country, moving to Italy for a year, selling our house and going on tour indefinitely, moving to Jesus people USA, getting goats, buying the house next door, starting an artist colony, (you get the idea)… So I’ve learned to take these kinds of meetings with a couple handfuls of salt. Growing up in that fiercely creative environment – I learned to thrive on that kind of energy. Here is a list of things to ask yourself when you start getting starry-eyed

1. Is this right for me, or do I love it enough?

2. Do I have the savings to fall back on while I’m getting this off the ground?

3. Have I talked to anyone who has done this?

4. Do I have the support system I need to do this?

5. Does my life have room for me to do this?

Never stop dreaming but make sure it’s not all you do.

There is always a realistic way to fulfill any dream. There
has never been a dream that you can’t have — at least,
not the heart of it, not the part you love the most.

– Barbara Sher

Far away there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations.
I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty,
believe in them, and try to follow where they lead.

– Louisa May Alcott

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

2 responses »

  1. best title there could be.

    talking about ‘dreaming’ gives me a little nudge.
    i need that. i have been feeling very comfortable
    just sitting back and enjoying myself… though that
    can sometimes make me feel restless. i’ve got to
    push myself out there a little more. or a lot.

    Reply
  2. Such wise words…you have a firm head on your shoulders…your parents gave you GREAT footings…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

