RSS Feed

Patch Work Progress

 Rose R made this Wonderful print for The PatchWork Project she is super talented! I have been reading a lot about the history of patch work quilts and there are some really beautiful books on the subject  Signs & symbols

The quilts in this book are so beautiful I can hardly look at more than three pages at a time!

This Book Quilts 1700-2010

has some really interesting stores in it for instance

“In the archives of the london foundling hospital. the scraps of textiles left by impoverished mothers who abandoned their babies include a small strip of silk or cotton patchwork embroidered with a heart. A symbol of kinship, should the distressed woman ever have the means to reclaim her child, one half was pined to the babe, while the other half would have been retained by the mother”

that completely broke my heart.

I found this thrifting a while back. I love all the good old fashion crafting going on in this little hanky.

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

2 responses »

  1. How cool! I love that hanky too!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: May Quilting | rosebeerhorst

Leave a Reply

