RSS Feed

Bike

My family has been living without a car since 2005! In 2005 I was 13 and that was the year my family decided to move to New York. We got rid of our car almost right away because we barely needed it with the amazing public transit system and its general walkability of  the city. We only stayed in New York for one year before a mixture of homesickness and low funds drove us back to Grand Rapids. On returning we decided to try not getting a another car to see if we could do it. With that in mind we picked out our house in one of the most walkable neighborhoods in GR, Eastown. Since we made the commitment to live without a vehicle we have  experienced our city in a much deeper way and I don’t think any of us regrets it at all. that being said,  Michigan was the car capital of the world our infrastructure was built by cars for cars. In this troubled economy as gas becomes more and more expensive, a lot of people my age are almost completely unmotivated to get a driving license let alone buy a car! most of my friends in their late teens early 20’s don’t have cars- they have bikes. I am defiantly one of the few that is hopeful for a future without cars because I have been living it for 6 years. I just hope that our nation can let go to this dying way of life before its too late. Be brave join the revolution!

 

 

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

3 responses »

  1. Word. The key is living and working close to home, rather than commuting long distance, I think. It’s very cool that you guys have been living car-less for so long!

    Reply
  2. Amo este bordado !!!!! Hermoso

    Reply

Leave a Reply

