RSS Feed

❏ Patch Work My Artprize Project ✂

I just entered Artprize! With my good friend rosie rancones I wasn’t  planing to be apart of it this year but when I got the idea for patchwork and I HAD to do it! Patch Work is a multi media installation that explores why we mend and patch clothes. Kids my age are sewing patches all over their clothes… why?

When thrift stores overflowing and new clothes are cheap, Something more has to be going on in the collective unconscious. Not only that but mending is beautiful,

it should be treated like an art form or at the very least a craft worthy of recognition. Rosie R. and I will be borrowing patched and mended clothes from friends and displaying them with mending tools new and old (dental floss  new) (darning egg old) we will also be making a zine that will be accompanying the installation.WE NEED YOUR HELP! Do you have examples of mended and patched clothing pants, shoes, darned socks, hats, coats shirts, anything that you could lend us to use in our project? Artprize runs September 21 – October 9, 2011 but we would need them a week or two before that. We would also like a brief statement about the item, why did you patch it? how did you tear it? what materials did you use? what does mending mean to you?

If you have something we could borrow or any questions email me at rosebeerhorst@gmail.com

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

8 responses »

  1. ROSE! I’m more excited than ever for your project! I also have a whole load of clothes that need to be mended. Want to get together and have a clothes mending party?

    Reply
  2. Very thoughtful post, Rose! I hope you document your in-progress/finished installation 🙂

    Reply
  3. that is such a cool project! and truly, mending is an art form : )

    Reply
  4. Oh, i so wish that i could send you my favorite patched clothes, they have such lovely stories. however..i wear them every day! that’s the main reason they’re patched in the first place, really. lots of love.

    Reply
  5. oh i love the idea of mending like THAT.. why did it never occur to me?!
    i have tatters of a couch cushion that need mending- and hadn’t figured out a way to patch them up. (even though they aren’t mine.. renting here comes with furnishings)

    hmmm i really want to do something to them..

    thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

