RSS Feed

Direction

This is a drawing by my dad of me when I was little –if you can’t read his hand writing it says  “I wanna do weaving or knitting dad, something more than pot holders, something more real” sometimes I forget just how long I have wanted to be a crafter. I can get all envious of people that know exactly what they want to do with their lives. But seeing this drawing, it seems like I have always been on some kind of path and that’s comforting. I can really feel lost sometimes, growing up the way I did – the next step isn’t always clear and being 19 is a little scary you’re constantly trying to figure out your place in the new world of being a “grown up”. I have been really pushing myself –one of my goals is to make 500.00 a month and I might make it this month! also seeing that picture I can remember how frustrating it was wanting to weave and knit and it just seemed like rocket science. I can do all of those things now and more. Hopefully I will keep learning the things I set out to and will be  %100  financially self sufficient this year.

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

4 responses »

  1. Hey there. I just wanted to let you know that I absolutely understand how you feel. I’m 20, and so often feel a little overwhelmed by how damn vast the world seems. I think, even if you hadn’t been unschooled, the next step mightn’t seem so clear. I mean, I wasn’t and a lot of times I feel like I’m not sure where I’m going. It’s just part of the age, I guess…

    It’s wonderful and amazing and just so cool that you have an attainable goal to work towards. You’re very talented, girl, and can definitely achieve what you’ve set out to do.

    P.S. I totally wish I could craft with you!!

    Reply
  2. yay for dreams and goals! : )

    i do love the organic feel of your pieces so much! you’re on the right track, putting your gifts into practice. it’s inspiring.

    it can feel overwhelming, sometimes, to wonder about the future. i’m nearly 30 and still i feel that i wish i was going in a slightly different direction professionally… more in touch with my will to make things. sometimes “real life” kind of suffocates one’s impulse to create.
    i cherish every little bit i get to make things and thank God for them. and for knowing that my future is safe with Him.

    sorry, didn’t mean to write so much!
    just need to say that it’s such a lovely portrait your dad made : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

