RSS Feed

Unschooled

I was unschooled my whole life. Born in ’92 I am one of the first wave of kids to grow up in the unschooling movement. when I decided to start blogging one of the things I wanted to talk about was my experience. Here is a list of some of the pro’s and con’s

▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲

first the pro’s!

I am very self motivated since what I do has always been up to me.

I have had the freedom to follow my interests and this has made me really good at what I love.

I have always felt free to be myself.

I have learned to make friends with people of all ages since I am not always with people of my age group.

I am very resourceful.

I have had a lot of experience in the real world watching my parents making their living as artists.

I have developed a great love for learning.

Con’s

People being nervous and angry when you tell them you are unschooled.

Isolation – it is REALLY important that you learn to interact with all kinds of people. This is one of the biggest dangers for unschoolers and homeschoolers.

The fear that you will be a failure since our culture says that school is the only way.

Feeling dumb because you don’t know things that all your friends do. This is something I struggled with as a child I had a really hard time spelling it turns out I am a little dyslexic but when I was little I thought it was because I was unschooled.

End Of List

▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼

Since I grew up in a fairly conservative city I never knew any other unschooled kids, there were some homeschooled kids but  their families were really religious and we had a hard time finding things in common. All of my closest friends have gone to Public school and I don’t think its very good system but I know it helps a lot of people. One of the worries people have about unschooling is that kids will not know how to be on time because they don’t have to go to school every day this is absolutely ridiculous not true at all! I  have always liked being on time.

If you have any questions about unschooling leave a comment and I will do my best to answer them.

The unschooling mascot!

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

12 responses »

  1. I think unschooling is a fabulous idea! I hated regular school – it was too restricted for my tastes! Unschooling is something I’d definitely consider, if I have children.

    Reply
  2. I just wanted to let you know that I love your blog! Very cute 🙂

    Also, unschooling is something I’m very interested in for my possible future children; I went to public school and when I think back on it now, I realize that, though I did well, it caused me a lot of unnecessary anxiety.

    Reply
  3. I always have found it fascinating to watch you and your brother and sisters grow up. I think there is no right or wrong way to learn, and our culture is really uptight about the whole thing. It is hard for others (and me sometimes) who are so steeped in our culture to recognize that we can trust our children to learn when they are ready. For me, when I try to step outside my upbringing and my own brainwashing from society, It’s hard to separate out what is expectation because of our culture and what is actually good for a child. – Even, what is actually good for MY child…
    At any rate, I think you’re turning out pretty dang good. So there.

    Reply
  4. This is the first time I have heard of unschooling. I have encouraged my daughter to home school her children…I am interested in learning more. What are your best resources for information? Maybe YOU? If it is, let me know what it is…
    I am impressed with how you were raised and schooled. I truly believe there is not one way.
    dd

    Reply
  5. Oh, I probably should have been unschooled or home schooled. Public schooling was traumatic for me.

    Reply
  6. hey rose love ur blog!!! what things did u learn at home? what did u choose to learn? did u find it hard to make friends being unschooled?

    hope u can answer my questions xxx

    Reply
    • Hi Laura, I learned all kinds of things at home!
      The way it seems to work is that I will be interested in something and then just read as much as I can about it. I go to library all the time and the internet is also really helpful. Some of the things I find myself coming back to time and again (history, naturopathy, crafts, gardening, cooking, cultural science.)
      As for your question regarding friends I have been lucky enough to have some really close friends. it hasn’t always been easy I am mostly drawn to the more alternative groups of people since my life has been so unusual they are who I feel the most comfortable around.

      Reply
  7. Unschooling is so fascinating to me.

    Reply
  8. hi, i am unschooling 3 children, ages 5,7 and 9. the biggest con as a parent is getting past the public school mindset. i don’t have many fond memories of public school. i’m hoping my kids all grow up to share wonderful memories of being unschooled. beautiful blog you have here. thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Balance « rosebeerhorst

Leave a Reply

