RSS Feed

Barefoot Victory Garden

I am a cofounder of the Bare foot victory garden– me and a group of friends started it in an abandoned lot in the heart of eastown last year. The name “barefoot victory garden” was inspired by the concept of removing your shoes on holy ground something we think every garden is! and also by Americas victory garden campaign during world war 1 and 2 The campaign promoted the cultivation of available private and public lands, resulting in over five million gardens. The way we have decided  to run the BVG is that instead of the typical rent a plot community garden we have work days twice a week and whoever shows up to work can bring home as much food as they want! That way it feels  more accessible. Last year we worked really hard just building it up from scratch, this year we want to get more of the community involved. I believe that growing your own food is most powerful things you can do in the face of your health, global climate change, deforestation and countless other things.In february we won a mini grant at  or local  sunday soup for $482.!!!!! we have used some of that to buy wonderful seeds and are planning a fund raising concert april 30th. The first thing we’ve harvested this year is Jerusalem artichokes they are a tasty tuber plant that looks like ginger and tastes like a sweet and nutty potato they are defiantly under appreciated they are soooo good who knew?

 

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

3 responses »

  1. I would love to up and build a garden in an abandoned lot! In North Idaho I don’t think they’d be o.k. with my using an abandoned lot (they’re so selfish!;))… gardens make me smile though:)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Barefoot Victory Garden Big Dig 2012! « rosebeerhorst

  3. Pingback: Budget Foodie « rosebeerhorst

Leave a Reply

