RSS Feed

Recycled rag rugs

I have always been a recycler it’s the best thing for crafting on a budget. My family is always getting clothes dropped of at our house in the hopes that we will use them this can be a little overwhelming at times. About three years ago I taught myself to crochet rag rugs and it has turned into one of my all time favorite activities and it use’s up a LOT of fabric. There is something so incredibly satisfying about turning a bunch of old hand me downs into a bright and colorful rug! 

My mom has been making hooked rugs for years they are made with recycled wool she felts and then cuts into strips and then weaves in and out of burlap. It is a very old American folk art that is mostly still practiced by an older generation of crafters and it take’s a long time but the results are magnificent! I once read that it was an early american tradition to make a rug out of the clothes of a family member that had died as part of the grief process what a beautiful idea it has haunted me ever since.

I have my rugs on ETSY if you would like to see more current ones.

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

One response »

  1. Your rugs are sooooo beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

