RSS Feed

May Quilting

Posted on

IMG_9860

I have been obsessed with quilts for a while now…  But I recently started my first patchwork quilt, sewing it all by hand, which might have been an odd choice – but it allows me to watch movies/TV shows at the same time so….

During my time working on my 2011 ArtPrize Project “PatchWork” — a curated mending as art collection, I was doing a lot of research on the history of mending and patchwork, and some of the best and most intriguing documentation I found was on Quilting.

cd465b3a883bc849aab3b846c929d3b9

Here are a couple of books I recommend on the subject.

q037-02_jpg

Quilt by Ella Mae Irby, 1923-2001.

The tradition of quilting is uniquely important among needle crafts. We are born in quilts and we die in quilts, they provide warmth, comfort, and safety thoughout our lives.

I was invited to be a part of the Shared Space Studio summer artist residency by the contemporary quilt and textile artist is Eliza Fernand. Checkout her work in her current Kickstarter project.

I am really looking forward to collaborating with her!

logo

Another quilter I am really into right now is Maura Grace Ambrose and her brand Folk Fibers. Each of her quilts is stitched by hand and she dyes a lot of her fabric herself, using homegrown and foraged plants.

Front-Page-Scrap-Flag-Quilt_grandeQuilt by Maura Grace Ambrose.

For MUCH more quilt inspiration checkout my Pinterest board Quiltz.

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

2 responses »

  1. yay quilts! (i too have a pinterest board named quiltz, hah!)

    i’m sooo close to finishing piecing my first quilt and i really need to buck up and get it done (procrastinating on cutting out a hundred triangles).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

