RSS Feed

Arts & Crafts


Photo by andrea_daquino

When I moved nearly 7 months ago, I decided to try my best to support myself exclusively through my Crafts/Art, and it has been one of the most stressful and difficult things I’ve ever done. But it’s also been completely empowering.

I am 20-year-old girl with no debt, doing what I love, running my own small business, and I think that’s a miracle!

The last 7 months have been a great expanding and learning experience and each month gets a little easier.

Most people my age are still in college and they can be hard to connect with some times. Whenever someone starts  talking to me about some dreamy art school in the Appalachian mountains, where you can get a degree in experimental finger looms, my eyes glaze.

( Don’t get me wrong that sounds like fun)  but sometimes you need to just stay where you are and be creative on your own.

Photo by nous vous

If more aspiring artists decided to save up $5000 dollars move into a studio-space and just make stuff for a whole year, instead of going to art school, I think they might end up with more interesting art, not to mention a lack of student loans.

“I am learning all the time.  The tombstone will be my diploma.”  

~Eartha Kitt

“I never teach my pupils; I only attempt to provide the conditions in which they can learn.”

~ Albert Einstein

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

3 responses »

  1. Rose, You are so inspiring to me and I wish I had your insight at your age. Keep working hard towards your dreams!

    Reply
  2. As a textile art student, I agree with what you have said about being more creative on your own. Sometime I feel like I’m too affected by everything around me to be able to think of my own ideas and be truely creative. On the other hand, I love going to school and learning about textiles and knitting and weaving and fibers. I would never have known what I know now if I didn’t go to school. Taking a year to just create in my own studio space would be absolutely amazing though.

    Reply
  3. I love your blog — it generates a lot of ideas for me. I seriously admire your vision to create things and make beauty in the place where you are (especially because G.R. is my hometown).

    I agree with everything you are saying here. I’m writing only to give you a peek into why people might choose to learn art through a class sometimes.

    I want to share with you something my own experience related to creativity. I’m not a professional artisan, so I know my experience will be much different than yours.

    I’m living in S. Korea (here doing research), and have learned a Korean style of patchwork for over a year now. I go once a week to my teacher’s small studio, sit with her and one or two other people, and sew and drink tea all afternoon. I also work on my projects on my own. For the first 5 months or so, I went through a series of projects designed by my teacher. I didn’t even get to choose the colors. But the things I made were beautiful (following her designs), and little by little my hand got used to the specific method of sewing/cutting/measuring used for this style of work. It felt weird to have to explain to friends that I didn’t design the pieces (saying so felt like I was confessing to not being creative). But afterwards, when I designed my own pieces, I was so thankful to have that knowledge in my body of how to sew like my teacher sewed. I could then experiment beyond that. My point is: it can be amazing and wonderful to embody another person’s knowledge and make it your own. I feel that too in the process of learning Korean language. Literally every word I can speak came first from someone else’s mouth (a teacher, a friend, a little boy playing on the street, etc, etc, etc), but as I use the words I learn, they become my own, to express my own thoughts, ideas, hopes.

    Because of your environment, you have already maybe had the chance to study with “masters” of various kinds, and then can now build on what you learned, throw away the methods you don’t like, and develop your own style.

    Or, perhaps, you generated your own work from the beginning, and that’s beautiful too.

    I just wanted to share the joy I have experienced from following someone else’s method as a path to realizing my own creativity. It becomes a collaboration, even if I’m thousands of miles away from my teacher (who I love and respect not just as a teacher but as a person). To remember her as I sew becomes an art in and of itself. This has value (and to me, therefore, is something worth paying for)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

