RSS Feed

Hero

I moved out 3 months ago. I’ve been supporting myself entirely with my crafting

and damn it I’m pulling it of!!!

I think that being brave and doing what you love is one of the hardest things in the world,

And to tell the truth I’m still a little terrified. When your trying to be brave and your feeling vulnerable it helps to have personal heroes

I love Patti Smith, the first time I hard her music I couldn’t believe how raw and powerful it was. She transcended what I’d always thought it meant to be a female musician she truly ROCKED cutting through all the bullshit spitting truths unmistakably beautifully REAL.

Patti became pregnant at 19 (“I was humbled by nature”) after giving up her baby for adoption feeling broken and empty she left New Jersey for New York, on her way she stopped at a statue of Joan of Arc and pledged to god that she would be an artist.

happy 65th birthday, Patti

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

4 responses »

  1. i read patti’s book “just kids” a while ago. it’s about her life and her becoming an artist. i couldn’t stop reading, her words are so wonderful, colorful and fascinating! she’s such an inspiring person and definitely one of my heroes as well!
    thanks for your words!

    Reply
  2. just kids was amazing. i love hearing stories about people
    just scraping by but thoroughly enjoying their life. especially
    women. especially patti smith. hah. it’s crazy to hear what
    she went through to get where she is now. i love it.

    Reply
  3. You should be so proud of yourself, girl! Messaging you my address via Etsy, by the way. Woo!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Comfort Me « rosebeerhorst

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

