RSS Feed

Feel the possibility

I am 19 and this is the time when all your parents friends ask– so!…. what are you going to do now? this is one of the times in your life that you will be truly tested, how will you react? I decided last year that I am not going to college this is a VERY  controversial choice I know but it just makes me sick that student loans have replaced credit cards as Americas number one form of debt. I have so many friends that have to work crappy jobs just to keep up with their loan payments and it’s always for degrees in art or dance or music– I would be no different.  I have looked around the local art schools but they have been disappointing. The only thing that I feel like I will miss from the college experience is the social aspect but that alone is not worth the price tag. I want to make my living as an artist/crafter and I am prepared to live on very little for a long time– possibly forever! but I want to keep my freedom to do what i love and i am a hard worker.

About rosebeerhorst

My name is Rose Beerhorst I'm 20, I love working with my hands whether that means crafting, gardening, or cooking. I've always dreamed a little too big for my own good!

10 responses »

  1. I don’t blame you one bit! Freedom is worth so much. (So much more than money, I think.) This is how I think-but my daughter thinks the exact opposite. :(

    Reply
  2. I know you don’t know me, but I want to encourage you in your decision! I agree with you very much about student loans and see the same thing all around me.

    School is NOT a requirement for a full, creative, exuberant life!

    Reply
  3. I totally respect you for this. And agree. There has got to be a different way than getting into debt up to your eyeballs. God is so much bigger than that and he can do a lot more with you when you trust him instead of money.

    Reply
  4. You are so wise. I know people are wondering why I’m not more concerned that my 18.5 year old daughter ‘isn’t doing anything’ and I think they are even more concerned that I’m not concerned. :) Good for you !

    Reply
  5. Have you considered an alternative form of education for craft? Check out the Core Fellowship Program at Penland School of Craft. It would be perfect for you! http://penland.org/programs/core_fellowship.html

    Reply
  6. Rose,
    I found your blog via the Etsy video of your family. I was searching through your blog and read something that reminded me of well…me! I just wanted to let you know that I try to live by the saying: “Your greatest creation is the life you lead”. I am 30, went to college and received my BS, I work and make enough money to eat, pay my bills, have a roof over my head and do fun things with the ones I love. I don’t make a lot of money, but I try to ignore the concerns people have about how little I make (mostly my mother). If you are happy, healthy and surviving on the living you earn be proud of yourself and the life you lead.
    Just remember that even the people who are “grown up” still don’t know what they want to do with the rest of their life, and most people don’t have it figured out. Be you and remember that ” your greatest creation is the life you lead.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

